Raising the bar for theatre educator professional development.

Model Cornerstone Assessments

A Model Cornerstone Assessment (MCA) is a model assessment with guidance for instruction in your classroom.  The authors of the 2014 National Theatre standards created Model Cornerstone Assessments aligned to the standards for grades Pre K-8, and at three levels in high school - proficient, accomplished, and advanced. Model Cornerstone Assessments for all grades were piloted and student work was collected and adjudicated in a national benchmarking process, to be shared as samples showing how the standards come to life in a real classroom.  Since the standards were published in 2014, additional Model Cornerstone Assessments have been created and piloted by EdTA utilizing teams of teachers and teaching artists, offering a full spectrum of models of assessment across diverse areas of instruction. 

MCAs model effective assessment practice and demonstrate that teaching theatre is specific, rigorous, and measurable by sharing a glimpse into one teacher's classroom.  The MCA's on this website come packaged with a suggested process for assessing student learning, types of evidence to collect, model rubrics, and samples of students' process and learning collected during the pilot of the MCA.  

Laurie Melnik Allen, Executive Director of the  Southeast Center for Education in the Arts talks about the impact of Model Cornerstone Assessments on Theatre Education.

Elementary MCA Packages

Middle Grades MCA Packages

HS Perf MCA Packages

HS Tech MCA Packages